Students motivated to stick with New Year’s resolutions


By Skylar Neafus

Creating a New Year’s resolution is a right of passage for some people into the New Year. Whether it is to lose weight, get better grades, or give up a bad habit, resolutions are made with the intention to stick to them and to make a change, but sometimes they fall to the wayside. “At the beginning of January, a lot more people come to the YMCA,” said sophomore Sydney Willis, a New Albany YMCA employee.

Gyms, such as the YMCA, have become more crowded around the beginning of the year compared to later months due to the seemingly straightforward intention of fitness.

“It is expected that a lot of people come more frequently earlier in the year, but it will slow down as the year progresses,” said Willis.

The promise of getting fit or staying in shape is a very popular resolution, but it involves a stronger commitment and a schedule to stick with.

“I’ve done pretty well with going to the gym and making healthy choices. I am very determined and have a very strong mindset to follow through my resolution,” said freshman Sarah Jones.

Some students have more specific goals that still involve weight loss. Senior Sarah Handy’s resolution was to lose weight and gain more muscle mass.

“I have successfully stayed committed to it,” said Handy. “I live a healthy life style and workout everyday, and there is no reason that I would not work on bettering the way I look.”

Besides fitness goals, improving grades in school when starting the upcoming semester is another common resolution.

“My resolution for this year is to get better grades this semester. I have stuck with it in a few classes, but I seem to be getting back into my old routine from first semester in my other classes,” said sophomore Jessica Nelson.

Grades start over at the beginning of second semester, offering a fresh start to go along with a new year, therefore students are trying to maintain higher grades instead of raising their grade from the previous semester.

“I want to do better in school and so far I have stuck to it pretty well,” said junior Zach Small. “Hopefully, I can stick with it all year long.”

Giving up a bad habit is a generally well-know resolution, which can turn a negative aspect of a person’s life into a positive one.

“My resolution is to stop procrastinating,” said freshman Anthony Worden. “I need to do better committing in math, because it will help me in my sophomore year.”

New Year’s resolutions may come off as easily forgotten and nonchalant promises solely meant for the month of January, but some are planning on sticking with them all year long.

“I do plan on continuing my goal, and I plan to turn it into an achievement in the future,” said Jones.

Leave a Reply

