School Board candidates share future plans and inspiration behind running


By Quinn Fitzgerald

Editor’s Note:

These comments for candidates for next week’s election of the New Albany-Floyd County Board of School Trustees were submitted from each candidate. To see more comments from each candidate, read the news section of The Bagpiper for Friday, Oct. 31.

Election Day is  next Tuesday, Nov. 4

District 1 (Vote for 1):

Donna Corbett:

BP:  What are your plans if you win?

Corbett: “I would suggest that the Board openly discuss the pros and cons of a decision before voting on agenda items.  I feel that all agenda items should have deliverables attached and that this information should be made available weeks before a board meeting to allow time for public comment. Decisions need to be transparent, unbiased, and free from personal or political gain. I also think the Boards needs a website where those interested can sign up to participate in focus groups.”

BP:  What are your plans if you win?

Corbett: “I would suggest that the Board openly discuss the pros and cons of a decision before voting on agenda items.  I feel that all agenda items should have deliverables attached and that this information should be made available weeks before a board meeting to allow time for public comment. Decisions need to be transparent, unbiased, and free from personal or political gain. I also think the Boards needs a website where those interested can sign up to participate in focus groups.”

BP: What inspired you to run for your position?

DC: “I feel that no Board member should be directly affiliated with Administration.  This potentially leads to conflict of interest and fosters distrust. I also feel that our Administration needs to re-align their values with those of the community. They seem to be more concerned with obtaining Smart Board than in retaining Smart Teachers.”

Roger Whaley:

BP: What are your plans if you win?

Whaley: “I have a deep and lasting commitment to the New Albany-Floyd County Schools and I believe that the success of this school system is directly related to an outstanding teaching staff, a strong administrative staff, and a school board that understands the needs of children.  My commitment to this community is to see that our schools continue to achieve at the highest level possible with the teachers and tools needed to be successful.”

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

RW: “I have served two terms on the Board of School Trustees. I believe that I can continue to make a difference in the lives of our students.”

District 2 (Vote for 1):

D.J. Hines:

Hines: “I plan to continue supporting the efforts of the present administration. It appears decisions over recent years have had positive effects, so we should continue on the same path, while looking to continually improve.”

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

DH: “I do not consider this running for a position. Serving on the School Board is an opportunity for community service. This community has been very good to my family and I want to give back. There is a perception that a person in this position has a lot of power; the desire for power is not a reason to serve. A school board member stewards the taxpayers tax dollars, they strive to treat all employee groups fairly, they counsel the administration on the direction and vision for the corporation and community, and they try to ensure that the students receive a superior, relevant education. They listen, counsel, and collaborate, none of with need power.”

Sue Williams:

Bagpiper:  What are your plans if you win?

Williams: “I have a great deal to learn about the workings of the NAFC School District.  I will make it my first job to learn as quick as possible what I need to be a productive Member of the team. One of my priorities will to work to bring back the Art, Music And PE teachers to the Elementary Schools.”

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

SW: “My brother Bob convinced me that I was a good fit for the School Board! I will bring with me; new fresh ideas, willingness to make sure our taxpayers dollars are spent in ways to help the students directly, and also I am a product of NAFC Schools and I remember how the old days where, but am smart enough to realize what we need to do to make our Schools keep up with our changing world!”

 

School Board At Large (Vote for 2):

Jan Anderson:

BP: What are your plans if you win?

Anderson: “My plans, if I win, will be the plans that I have brought to any job, position, or responsibility. I set goals and objectives as it pertains to the job, position, or responsibility. I will learn the basics and I will read and research all information that will serve to keep me prepared and knowledgeable. I will be punctual and with good attendance. I will take pride in oppurtunity to serve and will strive to be the best I can be. I will respect the opinions of my fellow board members and I will promise to be a good representative to the community and other stakeholders in championing the NAFCS Corporation. I will be receptive and respectful to the community as to questions or concerns. I have worked diligently the past four years in serving on the school board. I love education and educators and this position enables me to witness, first hand, the work of outstanding teachers and staff, the quality education provided to our children, and the support and involvement of our parents and community.”

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

JA: “I have spent the majority of my life being involved in the educational community- as a student, parent, teacher, principal, and school board member. I am widow, senior citizen, taxpayer and volunteer. I feel my extensive experience in education as well as being a lifelong citizen of Floyd Central provides me knowledge of my community and its history. I love to be a part of the part of the educational community and I am proud that I can serve my community in the position of the school board member. I am a lifelong reader and I love the challenges presented to the board and the research it takes to be aware of all the considerations involved in my informed voting. I love people and I love learning from interactions with people. I am known as putting children first in my decisions and I am steadfast in supporting the New Albany- Floyd County Schools in this effort. I sincerely believe the children of our community are receiving the best education anywhere from best of the best corporations anywhere.”

Mark Boone:

BP: What are your plans if you win?

Boone: “To continue building upon the PLC framework for administration and raise the bar academically for all students.  All of this is supported by the Board is we maintain a sustainable budget and set policies for accountability.”

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

MB: “I am running for re-election for the same reasons I ran 4 years ago, public education is under attack nationally.  NAFCS greatest assets are the students, parents, and staff at each building.  We can exceed expectations of a quality public education.  The Board needs to trust in the stakeholders and create policy to let them do what they are best at.”

Danita Burks:

BP: What are your plans if you win?

Burks: “If I win I plan to be a voice for the unheard. I plan to continue to have input so NAFC will remain a “great” school system.”

BP:  What inspired you to run for this position?

DB: “Being a Bus Driver for NAFC School – for over 13.5 years, I love my job, after much thought and involvement in our community I want to be a voice for not only drivers, staff, but parents who are involved with students. Being a great school system requires many hands to help along the journey.”

Don Sakel:

BP:  What are your plans if you win?

Sakel:

– “Increase test scores”

– “Update school buildings”

– “Expand use of technology”

BP:  What inspired you to run for this position?

DS: “Years ago I made a personal and professional commitment of my time and energy to the youth of Floyd County. After serving as a school administrator at Floyd Central High School for many years, I retired. Since then, I have remained wholeheartedly interested in the progression of our schools.”

Lee Ann Wiseheart:

BP: What are your plans if you win?

Wiseheart: If elected, I will solicit input and ideas from all NAFC employee groups and recommend policies based on the suggestions that will improve morale, increase student achievement, enhance school safety and operate the budget with fiscal responsibility. I will make myself available to Floyd County residents, listen to their concerns and engage the community to be actively involved in the educational needs of our children.

BP: What inspired you to run for this position?

LW: “I had the privilege of serving on the Board of School Trustees from 2006-2010. I have the experience and the passion to develop and change policy that will create a better working environment for our educators and support staff, keep our schools safer and be a good steward of the taxpayer’s monies.”


 

Leave a Reply

