Remaining 2014 movies show promise


By Christian DiMartino

Judging from the past few months, 2014 has been a passable year for movies so far. There have been some great movies (Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel), but there have been even more bad movies (A Haunted House 2, Pompeii). But that is okay, because I have great news: Oscar season is coming, and starting in October movies are going to get good again (hopefully). The films I have been waiting for all year and in some cases, last year too, are finally coming. Best of all, for me at least, is that Christopher Nolan and Paul Thomas Anderson, my two favorite directors, have new movies on the way, so it should be a jolly season indeed. Here are the five movies I cannot wait for in the rest of 2014

5. Foxcatcher (Nov.14, R): I first heard about Foxcatcher when it had Oscar buzz last year, but it was delayed a year and since then the momentum for this movie just keeps gaining. When it premiered at the Cannes Film Festival back in May, it opened to rave reviews and it has been said that Steve Carell (yes, the Steve Carell of The Office), as schizophrenic millionaire Jon Du Pont, is a leading Oscar contender. When I saw the trailer last year, it became insanely obvious. His work in the trailer alone is that effective. This film sounds almost too interesting, and hopefully it will live up to the hype.

4. Gone Girl (Oct. 3, R): Two time Oscar nominee David Fincher (The Social Network, Fight Club) is a master of two things: suspense and casting. Though his new thriller Gone Girl has some weird casting choices, such as Neil Patrick Harris and Tyler Perry, in the end it will probably be great, because Fincher knows what he is doing. Gone Girl looks fascinating, but what I am curious to see the most from it is just how good British actress Rosmund Pike (who I have always liked) is in the title role, considering she beat the film’s producer, Reese Witherspoon, for the role.

3. Dumb and Dumber To (Nov. 14, PG-13): I know I said it is Oscar season, but sometimes, exceptions have to be made. It is a strange thing to say, but I must admit: the original Dumb and Dumber, the tale of two morons named Harry (Jeff Daniels) and Lloyd (Jim Carrey), is one of the best movies of all time. It is okay to admit it, because deep down we all know it is true. So when a sequel to one of the funniest movies of all time comes around, especially after a twenty year wait, I take notice. Plus, I will watch Carrey in any movie, even if it was just him staring at a tree for three hours. So, consider it done.

2. Inherent Vice (Dec. 14 limited, R): Some great directors make mistakes, such as Steven Spielberg with 1941 or David Fincher with Alien 3. Paul Thomas Anderson is not one of those. Anderson, who has directed some of my favorite movies (Boogie Nights, Magnolia), has not made a mistake yet. Even his worst movie, the bizarre Adam Sandler romance/comedy/thriller/thing Punch Drunk Love is still really good. So, let’s just say, I am nearly too excited for his new movie, Inherent Vice, and there is not even any footage out yet. For the first time since Magnolia (his best work), Anderson is working with a large cast that includes Joaquin Phoenix, Josh Brolin, Reese Witherspoon, Maya Rudolph, Owen Wilson, and Martin Short, to name a few. Anderson, as he proved with Magnolia and Boogie Nights, knows how to direct a large cast. So, Inherent Vice has a lot to live up to, and hopefully this will be the film that sends Anderson home with his overdue Oscar. I cannot wait.

1. Interstellar (Nov. 7, Not Yet Rated): Christopher Nolan’s new film Interstellar had me at “Christopher Nolan.” Nolan, who also has directed some of my favorite films (The Dark Knight trilogy, Inception), is a filmmaker filled with ambition. If my predictions are correct (and they typically are), Interstellar will be no different. I want to see this movie so bad it hurts. Each of the trailers released have knocked me out of my seat, and those are only the trailers. Even the posters for this movie are mesmerizing, displaying visuals that only Nolan could conceive. With a great cast that includes Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Michael Caine, and many more, Interstellar, like Nolan’s past work, could end up being the best movie of the year. Get ready everyone: we are in for something special.

So, these five have my interest already, and the crazy thing is that I left so many off of this list. I am also looking forward to Tim Burton’s next film Big Eyes, Reese Witherspoon’s next great performance in Wild, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, the final film in the Hobbit trilogy, and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I, to name a few. Hopefully, almost definitely, 2014 is going to get a lot better, and I cannot wait. I will see you there.

 

Leave a Reply

