Concert behavior influences enthusiasm


By Amber Bartley

There’s something spectacular about being crammed in an inclosed space with hundreds of people who all enjoy the same music. I’ve been to 13 concerts in my 15 years of living, ranging from Hillary Duff to Justin Timberlake to Ed Sheeran and nearly everything in between. From attending these, I have noticed a thing or two about concert behavior.

1. There is a very high chance that the people near me would be noticeably drunk and they decide to leave early. This really has no age range other than over 21. I have also experienced having alcohol dripped on me once, which was not pleasant in any sense of the word.

2. No matter where I was seated, there was always a six-foot-tall woman wearing five inch heels in front of me. Occasionally, she would have an afro. Sometimes she was a dude. It just depended on who the performer was.

3. The T-shirts available were softer than a puppy or scratchier and rougher than a sweater made entirely of mini cacti. There is no in between. Puppy shirts make them worth the overpriced cost.

Nonetheless, they are great reminders of the experience.

4. I never really understand why people feel the need to dress up to go to a concert. Thousands of people in one arena can get sweltering hot very quickly. The higher up the seats, the hotter the air becomes. Sticky and humid air can dampen the night.

One of my all-time favorite concerts was the Ed Sheeran concert. He would have the entire crowd go silent. That’s extremely difficult to do for a crowd made up of almost entirely teenage girls. That kind of control over a group is powerful. That’s not something that’s easy to find among current artists. It’s not something I expected any artist to be able to pull off.

The same concept applies to the simultaneous jump. When an artist can get nearly everyone in the crowd to hop at the same time, the kind of pulsing energy can be felt deep within the chest. That can’t be felt at any other moment or at any other place. To me, that’s the definition of happiness and that  being I wouldn’t trade anything for seeing these performers. The attitude that every single performer had contributed to the massive turnout. There wasn’t a single moment when they were performing that I would not completely dissolve into their vibrant music.

Leave a Reply

