Columnist supports early start of school year


By Amber Bartley

During the first week of school, there were three topics that seemed to come up the most. They were about not wanting to be at school, the abundance of homework, and the school year starting so early in the year.

Personally, I couldn’t care less if we start on July 31 or Aug. 31. By the end of the summer, I find myself brainwashed from Netflix binges and movie marathons. Summer is a fire; sparking in June, attempts to revive it in the beginning of July, and completely fizzled out by the time that registration rolls around. In those last few days, I might try to press a few activities before the first day, but the fact still lingers without budging.

However, I adore the two-week breaks.

I can see it already; final day before fall break, kids tossing books into lockers but it’s not school work on their minds. Excitement buzzes through hallways and classrooms as teachers scramble to finish lessons. There is so much anticipation and eagerness boiling as vacation plans are shared and ideas of no stress for the next two weeks.

I can’t describe how excited I am to have an additional week in the fall to do whatever I please. Relaxed on the beach, conquer a country, or become an astrophysicist (weather permitting on most of these). Fall break is a pleasant way to get away from the classroom setting. Vacations are much easier to plan around two weeks to work with.

Sure, last spring break was cut down to one week, but the snow days were numerous. I enjoyed having a nice Monday off here and there.

Nonetheless, I will admit that summer break fell a bit short, but that’s not always a bad thing. Most classes take some time getting used to, not to mention hectic schedule changes. Waking up the first day of school is difficult, no matter what day it is.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.